22 scholarships available 

Each worth $2,000

14 awards for high school students

For graduating seniors planning to attend any accredited institution of higher learning

8 awards for college students

For undergraduate or graduate students attending an accredited college

Thousands of dollars invested in members' futures

Since 1990, we’ve awarded 582 scholarships for a total of $887,500

When every dollar counts, count us in! If you’re committed to making college a reality, our scholarships can help.

We're proud to recognize outstanding students with scholarships for college. We have a long history of supporting members' higher-education goals.

Eligibility and Requirements

Who is eligible?

You, if you meet these requirements:

  • Be a primary HawaiiUSA Federal Credit Union member for at least 12 consecutive months prior to applying
  • Keep your HawaiiUSA account(s) in good standing (show a history of responsible money management)
  • Be enrolled as a full-time student during the upcoming academic school year

Please note, if you received a HawaiiUSA Scholarship in the past, you may reapply and you'll be evaluated with current applicants.

If you're not a HawaiiUSA Federal Credit Union member, become one today. You'll be eligible to apply in future years.

Become a HawaiiUSA member

How to apply

  • The application for SY 2025-26 will be available in December 2024. If you meet eligibility requirements, click here to be notified when the application is available.
  • Scholarship recipients will be selected based on academic standing, leadership, honors and awards, school and community service, merit, recommendations, financial need, and HawaiiUSA membership.
  • Completed application, two signed letters of recommendation and certified transcripts must all be postmarked by the deadline and mailed to: HawaiiUSA Federal Credit Union Attn.: Scholarship Committee 1226 College Walk, Honolulu, HI 96817-3995. A hand-carried application will not be accepted. Applications postmarked after the deadline will not be reviewed.
  • The Scholarship Committee will review and evaluate each application before final selections are made. Scholarship Committee selections will be final.

2024 HawaiiUSA scholarship recipients

High School

  • Jace Furuta - Iolani School
  • Rissalyn Hara - Maryknoll School
  • Chanel Higa - Baldwin High School
  • Courtney Hisamoto - Mililani High School
  • Jake Ishikawa - Kapolei High School
  • Faith Komatsu - Mililani High School 
  • Devin Pang - Iolani School
  • Lina Reyes - Campbell High School
  • Riley Salamat - Waipahu High School
  • Ayre Takamoto - Kalani High School
  • Mari Tamashiro - Kalani High School
  • Tamar Wachi - Hawaii Technology Academy 
  • Brenna White - Maui High School
  • Jenelle Wong - Kalani High School


  • Tea-Marie Casabar - The College of Idaho
  • Cody Chun - University of Notre Dame
  • Taylor Fukunaga - University of La Verne
  • Marissa Nakamura - Maryville University 
  • David “Nainoa” Visperas - Stanford University
  • Logan Yamamoto - University of Southern California


  • Abigail Eli - Chaminade University
  • Katriel Wong - University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Benefits of Membership

Discover a better way, with HawaiiUSA

Benefit from the differences between being a member and being a number